Court Holidays

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Federal Holiday's for 2018

The United States Bankruptcy Court will be closed for the following holidays:

  • New Year's Day - Monday, January 1
  • Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. - Monday, January 15
  • Washington's Birthday - Monday, February 19*
  • Memorial Day - Monday, May 28
  • Independence Day - Wednesday, July 4
  • Labor Day - Monday, September 3
  • Columbus Day - Monday, October 8
  • Veteran's Day - Monday, November 12**
  • Thanksgiving Day - Thursday, November 22
  • Christmas Day - Tuesday, December 25

 

Federal Holiday's for 2019

The United States Bankruptcy Court will be closed for the following holidays:

  • New Year's Day - Tuesday, January 1
  • Birth day of Martin Luther King, Jr. - Monday, January 21
  • Washington's Birthday - Monday, February 18*
  • Memorial Day - Monday, May 27
  • Independence Day - Thursday, July 4
  • Labor Day - Monday, September 2
  • Columbus Day - Monday, October 14
  • Veteran's Day - Monday, November 11
  • Thanksgiving Day - Thursday, November 28
  • Christmas Day - Wednesday, December 25

 

*This holiday is designated as "Washington’s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.

**November 11, 2018 (the legal public holiday for Veterans Day), falls on a Sunday. For most Federal employees, Monday, November 12, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See section 3(a) of Executive order 11582, February 11, 1971.)